The Board of Directors of Banca Mps assesses the requirements of the Director Stefano Di Stefano

Siena, 6 May 2022 – At today’s meeting, held under the chairmanship of Patrizia Grieco, the Board of Directors of Banca Monte dei Paschi di Siena S.p.A. (the “Bank”), as the competent body pursuant to Ministerial Decree no. 169/2020, has assessed that the Director, Stefano Di Stefano, appointed by the Shareholders' Meeting held on 12 April 2022, meets the fit and proper requirements and criteria provided for by the applicable laws and regulations.

Furthermore, as declared by the Director himself, Mr. Di Stefano does not meet the independence requirements pursuant to Italian Legislative Decree no. 58/1998, Ministerial Decree no. 169/2020, and the Corporate Governance Code.

Therefore, there are currently eleven independent directors, equal to more than half of the Board members, well above the minimum threshold (at least one third) established by the Bank’s By-Laws, in compliance with the laws and regulations in force.

The Board of Directors has assessed the requirements on the basis of the information provided by the Director himself as well as publicly available information.

The Board of Directors has also confirmed that there are no material situations pursuant to the regulations on interlocking directorates under Article 36 of Italian Legislative no. 201/2011, converted by Law no. 214/2011.

Finally, the Board of Directors has appointed Mr. Di Stefano as a member of the Risk and Sustainability Committee, which is thus composed of the following Directors, the majority of whom are independent: Marco Giorgino (Chairman) (independent), Rosella Castellano (independent), Rita Laura D'Ecclesia (independent), Raffaele Di Raimo (independent) and Stefano Di Stefano (nonindependent).


Relazioni con i media

Media Relations

Ph: +39 0577 296634

Investor Relations

Ph: +39 0577 299350

Last modified: 06/05/2022